Windows 11 security; Windows Defender

cyclist

Reaction score
I am very curious given the current environment of online security if the new W11 is going to enhance or strengthen its WDefender. Or given the online world we live in will it be necessary or recommended to move to a third party AV, malware etc.? I have been using WDefender on my W10 for several years w/o any known issue. I welcome any thoughts.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
I can share what they are putting out publicly at this time
Windows 11 is also secure by design, with new built-in security technologies that will add protection from the chip to the cloud, while enabling productivity and new experiences. Windows 11 provides a Zero Trust-ready operating system to protect data and access across devices. We have worked closely with our OEM and silicon partners to raise security baselines to meet the needs of the evolving threat landscape and the new hybrid work world.
SOURCE: https://blogs.windows.com/windowsexperience/2021/06/24/introducing-windows-11/

No specifics with respect to their "Defender" product so far, but....
I suspect I will continue using it until such time as I see some information from reliable sources that suggests it isn't or can't do a dependable job.
I also run MBAM (MalwareBytes Anti-Malware) along side Defender, and....
Of course, always have two recent disk images that are stored on external media that is only connected to my computer during the time the backup is being performed.

cyclist

Reaction score
Thanks Trouble,
Would you mind clarifying your last sentence, i am not familiar with... storing two recent images on a external media process. Would you mind explaining what this means and how you apply this process? Thanks again. Best regards.

Trouble

Noob Whisperer
Reaction score
Would you mind explaining what this means and how you apply this process?
Sure.....
I use a product called Acronis True Image.