MIDI Drivers

Gylenthal

Reaction score
As a musician, I use MIDI In/Out a lot on my instruments.
Until last week, I had CuBase and Midi I/O installed on a Notebook running in Windows 7 (without any problem).
But the Notebook died (BSOD) and I decided to replace it
Got a brand new Notebook with Windows 11 installed and came to the conclusion that MIDI I/O was not supported anymore.
Looked up in Google, and found everywhere that everybody was having the same problem and after testing a vew answers no effective answer was given.
So, my question (if possible directly to BILL GATES): Why on earth has MIDI been cancelled on Windows?
Is there any REAL SOLUTION to this problem?
I am running Windows 11, latest update.

davehc

Reaction score
Midi is not a windows program, although MS have been associated with it. I believe there have been compatibilty problens with windows 11, and the onus ti fix it does not lie with MS, it sems. Tryhere:

Fwiw. Forget about Bill. He only has minor interests now in MS. Even financially.

Vote:

Shintaro

Reaction score
What devices were you attaching to the laptop that were using the midi interface?
Athough, it was a couple of years ago, I was using Windows 10 at the time I had Ableton live with an Arturia Minilab MKII and a basic Yamaha mixer.

Maybe I can help?

Vote:

Gylenthal

Reaction score
I used a Yamaha PSR-275 keyboard with a VIEWCON USB-MIDI connector
I also connected a guitar with a BEHRINGER USB-MIDI connector.
But Windows 11 does not support MIDI anymore and I read in Google that Microsoft cancelled the MIDI drivers on older versions of Windows as well.
As long as you don't update the older version it is OK, but if you let Micorosoft update you would lose the MIDI support.

Vote:

Xploit Machine

Reaction score